State College, PA - Centre County - Central Pennsylvania - Home of Penn State University

Bill O'Brien Accepts Maxwell Club Collegiate Coach of the Year Award

by on March 02, 2013 10:05 AM

Nittany Lion head coach Bill O'Brien and the 2012 seniors took center stage at Friday's 2013 Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala at Harrah's Resort in Atlantic City.

Before a crowd of 1,100, including a who's who of football celebrities, O'Brien accepted his Maxwell Club Collegiate Coach of the Year Award. Penn State great Matt Millen introduced O'Brien as the coach of the year to a rousing ovation before the leader of Nittany Lion football addressed the crowd.

The Lion seniors received multiple standing ovations when they were honored as the winner of the Maxwell Football Club's Thomas Brookshier Spirit Award, an honor that is only awarded under special circumstances and is not handed out annually. The five senior captains - Michael Zordich, Michael Yancich, Matt McGloin, Jordan Hill and Michael Mauti - accepted the award on stage from football coaching great Dick Vermeil before Mauti addressed the crowd.

Content Sponsor

Additionally, Lion junior Eric Shrive was recognized as the Uplifting Athletes Rare Disease Champion Award winner for his efforts in fundraising for the fight against kidney cancer.

Among the long list of award winners and speakers were Indianapolis Colts coach Chuck Pagano (Professional Coach of the Year), NFL MVP Adrian Peterson (Professional Player of the Year), Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te'o (Collegiate Player of the Year and Bednarik Award winner), Philadelphia Eagles head coach Chip Kelly, ESPN's Suzy Kolber and Merril Hodge, NBC's Cris Collinsworth, NFL Network's Mike Mayock, Maxwell Club President and ESPN analyst Ron Jaworski and former Nittany Lion Adam Taliaferro.

Take a look through some sights and sounds from the Maxwell Awards Gala, including speeches from Mauti and Coach O'Brien.


The staff of prepared this article. Reach us at (814) 238-6201.
Next Article
39 Candidates Running in 2013 PSU Board of Trustees Election
March 02, 2013 9:30 AM
by Onward State Staff
39 Candidates Running in 2013 PSU Board of Trustees Election
Disclaimer: Copyright © 2018 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

order food online