State College, PA - Centre County - Central Pennsylvania - Home of Penn State University

Penn State Athletics: Nittany Lions Lead NCAA With 18 National Titles Since 2007

by on March 21, 2016 2:00 PM

How good has Penn State gotten at winning national titles? Take a look at the numbers.

This past weekend, Coach Cael Sanderson directed Penn State to its fifth NCAA Wrestling Championship in the past six years with a dominating performance in Madison Square Garden. Led by national champions Nico Megaludis (125 lbs.) and Zain Retherford (149) and three more finalists, the Nittany Lions rolled up 123.0 points to push past Oklahoma State (97.5), Ohio State (86) and Virginia Tech (82). Penn State also captured its fifth Big Ten Championship in the past six years earlier this month. 

Last December, Coach Erica Walsh guided the Penn State women’s soccer program to its first NCAA Championship, with a 1-0 victory over Duke in Cary, N.C. The Nittany Lions were led by senior Raquel Rodriguez, who won the prestigious MAC Hermann Trophy as the nation’s top collegiate player. The Nittany Lions also won their 17th Big Ten Championship in the past 18 years and captured their sixth conference tournament title last fall.

The Nittany Lions have won at least one NCAA title in each of the past 10 academic years, starting in 2006-07.

Penn State’s 18 NCAA Championships are at least double the number of NCAA titles won by every Big Ten Conference institution over the past nine years. Since 1992-93, the Nittany Lions’ 29 NCAA Championships are more than double every Big Ten school that has competed in the conference for at least two full years (Nebraska has 13 titles, Minnesota and Ohio State have 12).

The Nittany Lions have seen six different teams combine to win their 18 national titles over the past nine years. Penn State has had NCAA crowns earned by women’s volleyball (6), wrestling (5), men’s and women’s fencing (4), men’s gymnastics (1), women’s soccer (1) and men’s volleyball (1).

Florida and Stanford are tied for fourth with 15 NCAA titles since March 2007, followed by UCLA (14), Alabama (10) and Texas A&M (10).

Penn State NCAA Championships since March 2007 (18)

Women's Volleyball - 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2013, 2014

Wrestling – 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2016

Men's and Women's Fencing - 2007, 2009, 2010, 2014

Women’s Soccer - 2015

Men's Volleyball - 2008

Men's Gymnastics – 2007

The staff of prepared this article. Reach us at (814) 238-6201.
Next Article
Development VP to Leave Penn State
March 21, 2016 12:50 PM
by Geoff Rushton
Development VP to Leave Penn State
Disclaimer: Copyright © 2019 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

order food online