State College, PA - Centre County - Central Pennsylvania - Home of Penn State University

Penn State Football: Dozier, Engram, Wisniewski and Stubblefield on 2021 Hall Of Fame Ballot

by on June 16, 2020 1:40 PM

Three former Nittany Lions and a current assistant coach are part of the The National Football Foundation (NFF) & College Hall of Fame 2021 ballot announced on Tuesday. The quartet join 78 players and seven coaches from the Football Bowl Subdivision and 99 players and 33 coaches from the divisional ranks.

Running back D.J. Dozier, wide receiver Bobby Engram and offensive lineman Steve Wisniewski represent Penn State on the ballot, along with current Nittany Lion wide receivers coach and Purdue alum Taylor Stubblefield.

"It's an enormous honor to just be on the College Football Hall of Fame ballot considering more than 5.4 million people have played college football and only 1,027 players have been inducted," said NFF President & CEO Steve Hatchell. "The Hall's requirement of being a First-Team All-American creates a much smaller pool of about 1,500 individuals who are even eligible. Being in today's elite group means an individual is truly among the greatest to have ever played the game, and we look forward to announcing the 2021 College Football Hall of Fame Class Presented by ETT early next year."

The 2021 College Football Hall of Fame Class will be officially inducted during the 64th NFF Annual Awards Dinner on Dec. 7, 2021, at the New York Hilton Midtown. They will also be honored at their respective schools with an NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salute during the 2021 season.

Penn State currently has 25 hall of fame inductees, the most recent being Kerry Collins in 2018.

Content Sponsor

This ballot continues to represent some of Penn State's most successful eras as Dozier and Wisniewski were part in Penn State's 1986 national championship season while Engram was a key piece to the Nittany Lions' undefeated 1994 season.

Newly minted Penn State receiver's coach Stubblefield, meanwhile, was a record-setting pass-catcher at Purdue.

Brief bios of each player are as follows:

D.J. Dozier, Penn State-Running Back- Named 1986 consensus First Team All-American and led PSU to perfect 12-0 season and national championship (1986)…Finished eighth in 1986 Heisman voting…First PSU back to lead the team in rushing for four consecutive seasons.

Bobby Engram, Wide Receiver-Penn State-1994 First Team All-American and recipient of the Biletnikoff Award as the nation's top receiver…Three-time First Team All-Big Ten selection who led Lions to the 1994 conference title and four bowl wins…First-ever PSU player to record a 1,000-yard receiving season and left PSU with 12 school records.

Steve Wisniewski, Penn State-Offensive Guard-1988 First Team All-American…Member of 1986 12-0 national championship team…Helped Blair Thomas rush for 1,414 yards and 11 touchdowns in 1987 and D.J. Dozier attain First Team All-America honors in 1986.

Taylor Stubblefield, Purdue-Wide Receiver-2004 consensus First Team All-American who set the NCAA record for career receptions (316)…Two-time All-Big Ten selection who led conference in receptions for three consecutive seasons from 2002-04…2004 Biletnikoff finalist who set Sun Bowl record with 196 receiving yards in 2001.

Ben Jones covers Penn State football and basketball for He's on Twitter as @Ben_Jones88.
Next Article
6 New COVID-19 Cases Reported in Centre County
June 16, 2020 12:05 PM
by Geoff Rushton
6 New COVID-19 Cases Reported in Centre County
Disclaimer: Copyright © 2020 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

order food online