State College, PA - Centre County - Central Pennsylvania - Home of Penn State University

Penn State Football: Dozier,Wisniewski and Collins On Hall of Fame Ballot

by on June 01, 2016 1:30 PM

Three former Nittany Lions are under consideration for the National Football Foundation's College Hall of Fame according to a press release.

First-team All-Americans Kerry Collins, D.J. Dozier and Steve Wisniewski have been selected for the national ballot for the Hall of Fame's Class of 2017. They have an opportunity to join 18 former Nittany Lion players and five Penn State coaches who have been inducted into the Hall.

Also on the Hall of Fame ballot is former Nittany Lion student-athlete Glenn Killinger, who is among the candidates for the divisional coach Class of 2017. Killinger was inducted into the Hall of Fame as a player in 1966.

Linebacker Shane Conlan was inducted into the Hall in 2014 and running back Curt Warner was enshrined in the Hall of Fame in 2010. Late head coach Joe Paterno was inducted in 2007. They are Penn State's most recent Hall of Fame inductees. Former Nittany Lion Bill Bowes will be enshrined on Dec. 6, 2016 as a coach for his career at New Hampshire.

The 2017 College Football Hall of Fame Class will be announced on January 6, 2017 in Tample, Florida in conjunction with the College Football Playoff. Irving, Texas. The class will be inducted at the 60th NFF Annual Awards Dinner Dec. 5, 2017 at the Waldorf Astoria Hotel in New York City. The inductees will be permanently enshrined in the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta.  

A total of 75 players and six coaches from the Football Bowl Subdivision are on the 2017 ballot.

To be eligible for the Hall of Fame ballot, players must have been named a first-team All-America by a major/national selector as recognized and utilized by the NCAA for their consensus All-America teams; played their last year of intercollegiate football at least 10 years prior to nomination; played within the last 50 years and cannot be currently playing professional football. Once nominated for consideration, all player candidates are submitted to one of eight District Screening Committees, which conducts a vote to determine who will appear on the ballot and represent their respective districts.

Ben Jones covers Penn State football and basketball for He's on Twitter as @Ben_Jones88.
Next Article
Prosecutors Argue Against Sandusky Grand Jury Claim
June 01, 2016 11:00 AM
by Geoff Rushton
Prosecutors Argue Against Sandusky Grand Jury Claim
Disclaimer: Copyright © 2018 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

order food online