State College, PA - Centre County - Central Pennsylvania - Home of Penn State University

Penn State Football: Franklin And McSorley Add To Awards List

by on December 29, 2016 2:08 PM

The Maxwell Football Club has named Penn State coach James Franklin  Tri-State Coach of the Year and sophomore quarterback Trace McSorley as the Brian Westbrook Award Tri-State Player of the Year. 

The pair will be honored March 10 at the 80th Maxwell Club National Awards Gala in Atlantic City, N.J.

Franklin is the first Penn State coach to win Tri-State Coach of the Year.

Earlier this month, Franklin was named the Sporting News National Coach of the Year. He is the second Penn State head coach to win the honor, joining Joe Paterno, who won it in 2005. He is also a finalist for the 2016 Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year award presented by the Football Writers Association of America.

Franklin was selected Big Ten Coach of the Year by the Associated Press and the conference's media. His Dave McLain Big Ten Coach of the Year honor is the fifth time a Penn State coach has won the honor, joining Paterno (1994, 2005, 2008) and Bill O’Brien (2012).

McSorley was named the Grange-Griffin Most Valuable Player of the Big Ten Championship Game after throwing for a game-record 384 yards and four touchdowns. He was a second-team All-Big Ten choice and was named the Big Ten’s Breakout Player of the Year by Athlon Sports. McSorley is the first Penn State quarterback to earn All-Big Ten honors since Daryll Clark in 2009.

Ben Jones covers Penn State football and basketball for He's on Twitter as @Ben_Jones88.
Next Article
Centre Foundation Reports $2.3M Invested in Community in 2016
December 29, 2016 12:15 PM
by Special to The Gazette
Centre Foundation Reports $2.3M Invested in Community in 2016
Disclaimer: Copyright © 2019 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

order food online