State College, PA - Centre County - Central Pennsylvania - Home of Penn State University

Penn State Football: James Franklin Eddie Robinson Coach Of The Year Finalist

by on December 06, 2016 11:23 AM

Penn State head coach James Franklin is among the five finalists for the 2016 Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year award presented by the Football Writers Association of America. Franklin is the first Penn State coach to be a finalist for the award since Bill O'Brien in 2012.

This marks the eighth time that a Nittany Lion coach is a finalist for the Robinson Award.

Alongside Franklin as finalists are Western Michigan’s P.J. Fleck, Colorado’s Mike MacIntyre, Washington’s Chris Petersen and Alabama’s Nick Saban.

The winner will be announced on Jan. 7 in Tampa Bay.

Penn State currently sits at No. 5 nationally with wins over No. 2 Ohio State and No. 8 Wisconsin and an 11-2 record overall. The Nittany Lions will face USC in the Rose Bowl on Jan. 2. Penn State has reached the 11-win mark for the sixth time since joining the Big Ten and is on nine-game winning streak, the longest for the program since 2009.

Franklin, in his third year at the helm of the Nittany Lions, has already been named Big Ten Coach of the Year by both the conference media and the Associated Press. Franklin’s Dave McLain Big Ten Coach of the Year marks the fifth time a Penn State coach has won the honor, joining Joe Paterno (1994, 2005, 2008) and Bill O’Brien (2012).


Ben Jones covers Penn State football and basketball for He's on Twitter as @Ben_Jones88.
Next Article
Penn State Fans Scoop Up 20,000 Rose Bowl Tickets
December 06, 2016 11:00 AM
by Ben Jones
Penn State Fans Scoop Up 20,000 Rose Bowl Tickets
Disclaimer: Copyright © 2018 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

order food online