State College, PA - Centre County - Central Pennsylvania - Home of Penn State University

Penn State Football: James Franklin Named Big Ten Coach Of The Year By Media

by on November 29, 2016 6:23 PM

James Franklin was named the Dave McClain Big Ten Coach of the Year as selected by the conference’s media on Tuesday night. Franklin shares the honor with Wisconsin coach Paul Chryst who was named the Big Ten Coach of the Year by the conference's coaches.

Penn State at 10-2 is set to play Wisconsin this upcoming weekend for the Big Ten title. The Nittany Lions are currently riding an eight-game winning streak including an upset victory over No. 2 Ohio State. Penn State is ranked No. 7 in the College Football Playoff poll.

In addition to Franklin's honors, Penn State kicker Tyler Davis was selected to the All-Big Ten first team by the coaches and second team by the media. Defensive end Garrett Sickels garnered second-team All-Big Ten accolades from the coaches and third-team honors from the media.

Defensive end Evan Schwan was selected to the All-Big Ten third team by both the coaches and media, while linebacker Jason Cabinda and Marcus Allen each claimed third team honors from the coaches and were named to the media’s honorable mention team.

Also on the Big Ten honorable mention squad were senior linebacker Brandon Bell, true freshman punter Blake Gillikin junior defensive tackle Parker Cothren and sophomore cornerback John Reid. Senior long snapper Tyler Yazujian is Penn State’s sportsmanship selection.

All-Big Ten offensive awards will be announced on Wednesday night.

Ben Jones covers Penn State football and basketball for He's on Twitter as @Ben_Jones88.
Next Article
Penn State Football: Stout Defense Meets Big Play Offense In Title Game
November 29, 2016 4:30 PM
by Ben Jones
Penn State Football: Stout Defense Meets Big Play Offense In Title Game
Disclaimer: Copyright © 2018 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

order food online