State College, PA - Centre County - Central Pennsylvania - Home of Penn State University

PS4RS Candidates Win 3 Alumni Seats on Penn State Board of Trustees; Longtime Member Joel Myers Loses Election

by on May 09, 2014 3:43 PM

Three candidates endorsed by Penn Staters for Responsible Stewardship (PS4RS) won the election for alumni seats with the Penn State Board of Trustees ousting longtime board member Joel Myers.

Winners included Alice Pope, who earned 10,025 votes; Albert Lord, who earned 9,516 votes; and Robert Jubelirer who earned 8,101 votes.

Pope has three degrees from Penn State. She is an associate professor of psychology at St. John's University in Brooklyn, New York. Jubelirer is a partner and chair of government relations practice with the Obermayer Rebbman Mixwell and Hippel law firm. Lord is the former chairman and CEO of Sallie Mae, a student loan financial service company in Washington, D.C.

A goal of PS4RS is to remove board members "who were responsible for the mishandling of the university's role in and response to the Jerry Sandusky saga," according to the group's mission statement.

The three alumni seats that were up for grabs are currently held by board members Jesse Arnelle, Marianne Alexander and Joel Myers. Myers is the only candidate who ran for another term. He served on the board for 33 years. 

"It's been an honor to meet so many smart and dedicated people, to make good friends, to learn and to appreciate the pleasure of giving as well as receiving," Myers says.

Myers says he hopes his legacy will be him taking "the road less traveled."

The board gave Myers and Arnelle, who served on the board for 45 years, standing ovations for their service.

"I am truthfully grateful for your support for allowing me to serve," Arnelle says.

Voting opened April 10 and concluded Thursday with 29,791 votes cast. Last year, in total, 32,986 alumni voted, which was down from a record-setting 37,579 ballots cast in 2012.

Delegates of the agricultural societies elected Betsy E. Huber and Keith E. Masser. Huber was elected to the board of directors of the National Grange in 2006 and has served as chair since 2007. She also is executive secretary for the Pennsylvania Young Farmers Association. Masser is president of Sterman Masser Inc. in Sacramento, Pa., a family farm that produces potatoes, cash grain and hay, and processes dehydrated and fresh-cut potato products. He was elected to the board by delegates from agricultural societies in 2008, and elected board chair in January 2013.

The board also elected two trustees representing business and industry, Daniel S. Mead and Walter C. Rakowich. Mead is president and CEO of Verizon Wireless, and is one of the founding senior executives responsible for launching Verizon Wireless in July 2000. Rakowich retired in 2012 as CEO of Prologis.

The term of each trustee elected is three years, beginning July 1 and expiring on June 30, 2017.

The 32-member board includes five trustees who serve in an ex officio capacity – university president, Pennsylvania governor, and state secretaries of agriculture, education and conservation and natural resources.

The alumni elect nine members. The governor appoints six members. Organized agriculture societies elect six members. The board elects six members from business and industry sectors.

Popular Stories:

Penn State Board of Trustees Names Food Science Building After Outgoing President Erickson, Approves Emeritus Status

State College Police Searching for Suspected Underwear Thief

NCAA Defends Consent Decree, says Paterno Family Rewriting History

State College Medical Community Keeping Watch For New Viral Illness Linked to Middle East




Jennifer Miller is a reporter for She has worked in journalism since 2005. She's covered news at the local, state and national level with an emphasis on crime and local government.
Next Article
Penn State Board of Trustees Names Food Science Building After Outgoing President Erickson, Approves Emeritus Status
May 09, 2014 3:07 PM
by Jennifer Miller
Penn State Board of Trustees Names Food Science Building After Outgoing President Erickson, Approves Emeritus Status
Disclaimer: Copyright © 2018 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

order food online