State College, PA - Centre County - Central Pennsylvania - Home of Penn State University

State College Primary Election Results

by on May 22, 2013 1:45 AM

There was a lackluster turnout in Tuesday's primary election with just 14 percent of registered voters casting ballots.

The most closely contested race in State College was for the State College Area School Board. Incumbents Patti Fishbaine, David Hutchinson and Jim Leous and challenger Scott Fozard will all be on the ballot in the fall. 

There were five candidates and voters could choose up to four. Hutchinson led with 1,475 votes, Fishbaine, current board president, had 1,426 votes, followed by Fozard with 1,410 votes and Leous with 1,367 votes. 

Michael Straw, the 18-year-old challenger, came in with 1,269 votes and lost. There were 36 write-in votes. 

In the State College Borough Council race, Richard Garis, who ran unopposed on the Republican ticket, got 340 votes. Incumbents  and Tom Daubert will run on the Democratic ticket with challengers Theresa Lafer and Evan Myers. Lafer led with 620 votes, Myers with 590 and Daubert with 583. Challenger Matthew Miliner lost with 368 votes. 

Voters could choose up to three candidates of the four running for Borough Council. 

Centre County District Attorney Stacy Parks Miller, who ran unopposed, will run in the fall and appear on both tickets. 

District Judge:

Carmine Prestia won district 49-01-01, which includes half of the State College Borough. Leslie Dutchcot won district 49-02-01, which includes College, Ferguson, Halfmoon, and Patton Township. Kelley Gillette-Walker won district 49-3-02. Steven Lachman (D) will face off against Susan Bardo (R) in November. 

State College Mayor:

Incumbent Elizabeth Goreham (D) will face Ron Madrid (R) in November. Both candidates ran unopposed.

College Township Council

Democratic incumbent L. Eric Bernier and challenger Carla Stilson (D) each won their primary, while Republicans Lynn Herman and Steven Lyncha came won over of D. Richard Franke.

 Stilson and Herman won the primary for a two-year term on the council, which was a separate election from their respective primaries.

Patton Township Supervisor: 

 Republican D. Joshua Troxell, George Downsbrough Jr. (D) and Elliot Abrams (D) will run in the fall.  

All results are unofficial until next week when they are certified by the Board of Elections and all outcomes are available on the Centre County website.

Laura Nichols is a news reporter and @LC_Nichols on Twitter.
Next Article
Penn State Football: O'Brien Opens Up During HBO Interview
May 22, 2013 1:00 AM
by Ben Jones
Penn State Football: O'Brien Opens Up During HBO Interview
Disclaimer: Copyright © 2020 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

order food online