Watch out for Kids Heading Back to School: School Bus Violations Carry Heavy Penalties
Pack up that lunch, and those new school supplies -- summer vacation is coming to an abrupt end. It's time for students to head back to school. Tuesday marks the first day of school in the State College Area School District.
And that means there will be lots of kids on the streets along with school buses, vans and car pools.
PennDot is urging drivers to use caution. "As students return to the classroom, drivers who haven't had to drive around buses or students for months must be alert for bus stops and school zones," says PennDOT Secretary Barry Schoch. "The consequences of just a moment of distraction could prove to be tragic."
Under Pennsylvania's school bus stopping law, drivers must stop at least 10 feet from any bus that has its red lights flashing and stop arm extended.
The only exception to the law is when a school bus is stopped on the opposite side of a divided highway. The highway must be clearly separated by a concrete barrier or grass median.
Violators could face a $250 fine, five points on their driving record and a 60-day license suspension.
Don't forget to stay alert when driving past a school bus stop. And you should also stop for pedestrians in crosswalks especially in school zones. Motorists must obey the posted speed limit of 15 mph in school zones. Violators face fines and three points on their driving record.
Click HERE for more information on Pennsylvania's school-bus stopping law and school bus safety tips.