Penn State Football: Matt McGloin Wins Burlsworth Award; Stankiewitch, O'Brien Finalists for Top Honors
December 03, 2012 2:49 PM
by Nate Mink
Click for Image Gallery Click For Gallery

Matt McGloin has won the Burlsworth Award, given to the nation's best player who started his career as a walk-on, the Burlsworth Foundation announced Monday.

McGloin, one of three finalists along with Michigan's Jordan Kovacs and San Jose State's David Quessenberry, was presented the award earlier Monday in Springdale, Ark.

The Scranton, Pa. native broken several school records this past season, including:

After being jockeyed around with former PSU quarterback Rob Bolden, splitting time for two years, McGloin was named the starter after the spring by first-year coach Bill O'Brien.

McGloin is hoping his record-breaking season segues into a pro career.

"I hope he gets that opportunity," O'Brien said. "It's not easy, it's not easy in that league and that's the hardest position to play in that league, and it's very competitive. It's a very competitive position in that league, and I know he will compete and if given the opportunity he will go in there and do the best he can. I hope he tries to play forever."

Stankiewitch a Finalist for Rimington Award

Senior Matt Stankiewitch is one of six finalists for the Rimington Award, given annually to the nation's top center.

Mario Benavides (Louisville), Braxston Cave (Notre Dame), Dalton Freeman (Clemson), Khaled Holmes (USC) and Barrett Jones (Alabama) are the other five finalists this season. The award will be announced Thursday on ESPNU just prior to the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show.

"It's a great honor to be a finalist for the Rimington Trophy," Stankiewitch said in a press release He has started 25 games over the last two seasons, and he earned first-team All-Big Ten honors from the coaches in 2012. "It's a great testament to the guys who play next me, particularly John Urschel (first-team All-Big Ten right guard), since we have a lot of combination blocking. I thought our offensive line had a very good year under Coach (Mac) McWhorter."

The recipient will also be honored at the Rimington Trophy Presentation banquet at the Rococo Theatre in Lincoln, Neb. on Jan. 12.

O'Brien One of Nine Finalists for Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award

First-year coach Bill O'Brien, the 2012 Big Ten Coach of the Year, is one of nine finalists for the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award, the Football Writers Association of America announced Monday.

Joining O'Brien as finalists are: Gary Andersen (Utah State), Dave Doeren (Northern Illinois), Brian Kelly (Notre Dame), Urban Meyer (Ohio State), Will Muschamp (Florida), David Shaw (Stanford), Bill Snyder (Kansas State) and Kevin Sumlin (Texas A&M).

The FWAA will vote later this week, and the award will be announced Dec. 13.

Recent Coverage:

Disclaimer: Copyright © 2020 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.,1193709/