Penn State Football: Conference Announces First Wave Of All-Big Ten Awards
November 28, 2017 11:45 AM
by Ben Jones
Click for Image Gallery Click For Gallery

It's that time of the year and Penn State fans will be glad to know that the Big Ten media and coaches haven't forgot about some of their favorite Nittany Lions during award season.

Senior safety Marcus Allen led Penn State’s All-Big Ten defensive selections, while kick returner Saquon Barkley was named the special teams returner honoree. Allen is a first team choice by the coaches and a second team selection by the media. Barkley collects first team accolades as a kick return specialist from both the coaches and the media.

Joining Allen on the All-Big Ten defensive team are senior linebacker Jason Cabinda (second team - coaches; honorable mention - media), junior cornerback Amani Oruwariye, who was second team pick by the coaches and media, and sophomore defensive end Shareef Miller (third team - media; honorable mention - coaches). Additionally, on the Big Ten honorable mention squad are Troy Apke (media), Christian Campbell (coaches & media), Curtis Cothran (coaches), Parker Cothren(media) and Grant Haley (coaches & media).

In addition to Barkley on special teams, punter Blake Gillikin has been selected to the All-Big Ten second team by the coaches and media, while punter returner DeAndre Thompkins garners second team accolades from the coaches and third team laurels from the media.

Senior linebacker Brandon Smith is Penn State’s sportsmanship selection.

All-Big Ten selections for offense will be announced on Wednesday and individual award winners on Thursday.

Disclaimer: Copyright © 2019 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.,1474626/