Penn State Football Announces Team Captains for 2020 Season; Freiermuth Gets Big Ten Honor
October 16, 2020 6:25 PM
by Ben Jones
Click for Image Gallery Click For Gallery

Penn State football announced its 2020 team captains on Friday evening as seniors Michal Menet and Shaka Toney, senior Lamont Wade, redshirt juniors Sean Clifford and Jonathan Sutherland, and juniors Pat Freiermuth, Jesse Luketa and Jordan Stout were selected for those leadership honors.

Clifford, Freiermuth, Menet and Sutherland are captains for the second-straight season.

A collection of important players on all three phases of the game, Menet looks to anchor a strong offensive front in 2020 as the Nittany Lions attempt to established a three-headed rushing attack with one of the nation's deepest backfields. Clifford will take over for the second-straight season as Penn State's starting quarterback often having an eye on tight end and future NFL Draft choice pat Freiermuth.

Freiermuth was one of five Big Ten East division honorees on Friday evening as well.

On the other side of the ball it will be Lamont Wade quarterbacking the defense at safety while Jonathan Sutherland will continue to lead by example on both defense and special teams as one of the unit's most experienced players. Jesse Luketa will managed the linebacking unit in the wake of Micah Parsons' departure to round out that group. Defensive end Shaka Toney will find himself in a similar path, looking to steady a defensive end room without now Carolina Panther rookie Yetur Gross-Matos.

Do-it-all, kicker Jordan Stout competes the eight-man captain unit.

Disclaimer: Copyright © 2020 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.,1484239/