State College, PA - Centre County - Central Pennsylvania - Home of Penn State University

Several club champions crowned on local courses

by on September 07, 2017 10:45 AM

PHILIPSBURG — The Philipsburg Elks Country Club held its 2017 men’s club championship over the Labor Day weekend with five-time champion Pat Brown collecting another trophy by defeating runner-up Bo Sankey, 9 and 8, over 36 holes. Placing third was Jordan Albright, followed by Adam Timchak in fourth.

On the women’s side, Halle Herrington repeated as the club champion by defeating Cathy Greenland, with Georgiann Way at third and Daria Danko at fourth.

The women’s first flight was won by Gerry McCully, followed by Nancy Moskel, Mo Tocimak and Georgie Myers.

The men's first flight was won by Jim Dixon, followed by Scott Nelson, Josh Muir and Bob Mitchell. The second-flight winner was Todd Reifer, followed by Jon Whitman, Ron Eiler and Sam Peterson. The third-flight top four finishers were Dan Myers, Lee Martell, Brandon Singer and Ed Yarger.

In the fourth flight, the top four were Jeff Martell, Denny Shealer, Terry Smith and Andy Reifer. Fifth flight was won by Chris Sherkel, followed by Brent Becker, Bob Adams and Nick Wasilko.; In the sixth flight, it was Tim Greenland for the win, followed by Al Weitoish, Davey Williamson and Drew Tocimak.

Seventh flight saw Ky Bender win, followed by Lynn Herman, Poinsy Burns and Rob Earnest. Dan Danko won the eighth flight, and Denny Rodgers, Rick Kenny and Jake Vaux took the other three spots.

Rimchak won the 2017 club medalist trophy with a low qualifying score of 134.

Also, during the club championship round, a hole-in-one was recorded by Myers when he aced the 130-yard, No. 13 hole using an 9-iron.

Penn State Blue Course ladies hold championship

The Penn State Blue Course's ladies league recently held its club championship for nine-hole and 18-hole titles.

The nine-hole first-flight winner was Nanette McAfee, while Annie McLaughlin was the runner-up. The second flight was won by Kay Meyers over Sue Sargo, while third flight went to Fran Cooley over Marion Fritsch.

The 18-hole first flight was won by Maribel Lies over Genny Vanemon. In the second flight, Sue Cross won over Norma Campbell.

Club championship results announced for Mountain View

It took 23 holes before Mike Braniff won his fifth club championship at the Mountain View Country Club over 2016 champion Matt Dougherty. Ginny Hosterman won her 18th title, defeating Tracy Pletcher for the women’s club championship.

The women’s first-fight winner was Christy Miller, the senior men’s champion was Steve Kirby and the senior women’s champion was Donna Merrill.

Coming up aces

Recently, State College golfer Peggy Smith recorded a hole-in-one, although neither she nor playing partner Maribel Lies saw the ball go in the hole.

Smith’s ace came at the Toftrees Golf Resort on No. 10, a 124-yard layout using a 7-iron. It was Smith’s second hole-in-one; her first ace was made on Toftrees' sixth hole.

“Recently, on a very early drizzly Friday morning and after a heavy rain storm Thursday night, the playing condition weren’t the greatest for golfing,” said Smith. “The weather was so bad, we didn’t even see the ball fly into the hole.

“The hole-in-one was the first ace that Maribel Lies had witnessed (other than her own). Maribel and I have known each other from golfing for 20-plus years, so having made the ace that was witnessed by a long-time golfing friend was special.”

Smith wasn’t the only person to recently record a hole-in-one. Steve Kirby aced No. 16 at the Mountain View Country Club for his second hole-in-one. It was a 150-yard shot that covered the distance using a 6-iron. Kirby’s playing partners and witnesses were Don Fetzer, Aaron Roan and Tyler Hughes.

Skytop Mountain Golf Club to host night scramble

The Skytop Mountain Golf Club once again will host a night of scramble golf at the Port Matilda layout, beginning at 8 p.m. Friday, Sept. 8.

The cost of the nine-hole scramble event is $40 per player and includes everything a golfer will need to participate.

According to Skytop's golf pro Jeremy Crawford, “The entry fee includes two LED light-up golf balls. The fairways are lined with LED light-up stakes and the greens and hazards are outlined with different colored LED markers. The flags and the holes are lit up as well with LED markers.”

To register, phone (814) 692-4249.

Twilight men's league wraps up at Mountain View

The No. 1 Bartley Builders won the 2017 twilight league championship at Mountain View after  recently after defeating No. 2 Wisecrackers in a sudden death playoff.

The match was tied 6-6 after regulation, resulting in a sudden-death playoff that lasted one hole when Matt Dougherty, of Bartley Builders, bested Garrett Bastardi, of Wisecrackers, for the title

Regulation results were: Mike Berean (BB) defeating Nate Bauer (W); Matt Dougherty (BB) defeating Garrett Bastardi (W); Dave Lingenfelter (W) defeating Chuck Pfeffer (BB); Tom Bruce (W) defeating Jim Pringle (BB); Todd Droll (BB) defeating Steve Weaver (W); and Tyler Hughes (W) defeating Casey Widmer (BB).

The consolation match between No. 5 Ramada and No. 6 Sound Tech was tied, 6-6. Individual match results were: Mark Robbins (ST) defeating Andrew Grim (R); Mike Sgriccia (R) defeating Chris Borden (ST); Rick Treaster (ST) defeating Steve Brown (R); Randy Paroda (R) tying Art Leach (ST); Pete Quinn (ST) tying Tyler Martz (R); and Joe Thomas (R) defeating Rusty Woods (ST).


John covers sports for the Gazette.
Disclaimer: Copyright © 2018 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.