Monday, March 8, 2021
Home » News » Local & Penn State Sports » Three Nittany Lions Win Super Bowl LV with Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Three Nittany Lions Win Super Bowl LV with Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Chris Godwin, Donovan Smith and A.Q. Shipley are Super Bowl champions.

The three Penn Staters won Super Bowl LV as members of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers on Sunday night. The Bucs controlled the game from the start, winning by a comfortable margin of 31-9 over the Kansas City Chiefs.

Godwin didn’t make much of an impact in the game with just two catches for nine yards. However, he played a crucial role in the Bucs’ overall postseason success, setting an all-time franchise record with 232 receiving yards in a single postseason. Godwin finished the playoffs with 16 catches and one touchdown as well.

After the game, Godwin, who has spent all four of his NFL seasons with the Bucs, reflected on the Super Bowl win and the team’s spirit and mindset.

“Everybody in the locker room, we believed,” Godwin said. “You know, we believed, we persevered, we fought together, we band together as brothers, and that’s why we’re champions.”

Smith — who wrapped up his sixth NFL season, all with Tampa Bay — was part of a dominant offensive line performance for the Bucs Sunday night. He helped pave the way for 145 rushing yards and contributed to keep Tom Brady upright, as the Bucs allowed just one sack all game. Smith anchored Tampa Bay’s offensive line in the postseason and played 100% of the offensive snaps.

The big offensive lineman was pumped up during the postgame celebration.

Even though he’s been on injured reserve due to a potential career-ending neck injury, 12-year NFL veteran Shipley can now call himself a Super Bowl champion after starting two games for the Bucs earlier this season.

On the other side, Stefen Wisniewski started at right guard for the Chiefs due to some injuries on the offensive line. He had previously served as a backup since signing with the team in November.

This is now the second consecutive season that two or more Penn Staters won the Super Bowl. Last season, Jordan Lucas and Wisniewski were crowned champions as members of the Chiefs.