Tuesday, June 22, 2021
Home » News » Local News » Dauler, Filippelli Will Decline Republican Write-In Nominations for State College Borough Council

Dauler, Filippelli Will Decline Republican Write-In Nominations for State College Borough Council

Democratic State College Borough Council candidates Catherine Dauler and Ronald Filippelli both won enough write-in votes in the May primary election to secure Republican nominations, but neither plans to appear on the ballot in November.

Dauler and Filippelli both confirmed to StateCollege.com on Thursday that they will decline the write-in nominations. Dauler previously served four terms on council. Filippelli is a former council member and current mayor of State College whose term expires at the end of this year.

Neither garnered enough votes to win one of three Democratic nominations in the primary, finishing fifth and sixth in the six-candidate field.

With the field for November sorted, State College is now assured of having three first-time council members come January.

Progressive first-time candidates Gopal Balachandran (1,702 votes), Divine Lipscomb (1,465) and Richard Biever (1,217) earned the Democratic nominations, outpacing current council member Katherine Yeaple (1,153), Filippelli (963) and Dauler (870).

Jacob Werner was the only Republican to file for the primary. He received 484 votes and will be on the ballot in the general election.

Current council members Evan Myers and Theresa Lafer, who have reached term limits, will be leaving council at the end of the year, along with Yeaple.

In the mayoral race, Democrat Jim Leous won enough write-ins for a Republican nomination. Democratic primary winner Ezra Nanes, however, said Leous informed him he would not accept a write-in nomination.

Leous has not responded to messages seeking comment.

Write-in winners have until July 2 to formally accept or decline a nomination. To qualify for borough council or mayor nominations, candidates must be the top vote-getters with at least 10 write-ins.

Centre County’s election results are unofficial until certified. Certified results will be sent to the Pennsylvania Department of State by Monday.